He’s home!..kind of.

Yesterday evening at around 5 p.m. I got a call from my husband to come and get him from his unit.  To say that I was excited is an understatement.  He has been gone for so long and this last stretch of training included a 2 week period with absolutely no communication. It has been difficult. He told me not to rush in coming to get him and I didn’t because I totally needed to clean this house before he stepped foot in it. My house is never a total disaster, but it can get pretty close to it in a matter of 5 minutes with my 2 children running around. We left an hour after he called and I knew from my own experiences in the Army that just because the Soldiers had returned to the unit didn’t necessarily mean that they could go home, especially my husband.

We got there at about 7 p.m. and my daughter fought the sleep monster the whole way because she absolutely needed to see her daddy.  She also talked quite loudly the whole way there too. We were so excited to see him…well, my daughter and I were excited to see him.  My son fell asleep as soon as I pulled out the driveway and he missed the whole seeing daddy in his element.  My husband came to the car and gave us all hugs.  He took my daughter around to meet his co-workers and then we waited until he was released. He was finally released at about 11 p.m., which was followed by him giving instructions to his Soldiers and then at about 11:15 p.m. I got my husband back.

Technically, I really don’t have him back.  He is still somewhat in limbo.  I always see the military homecomings on commercials or television shows and ours is never quite that way.  It’s almost like he has to warm up to the idea of being home.  I use to think it was just a deployment thing, but I have since realized that if he is away for over 2 weeks, then he needs time to readjust.  Honestly, it sucks.  This is difficult part of being an Army wife.  It was cool when I was in the Army with him because I kind of got it, but now, it just feels like he has checked out.  So, from 7 to 11 p.m. he may have said a total of 12 words to me, which kind of makes me sad because I really have been missing him and want to know what he’s been doing. I want to joke with him, hug him, kiss him, and tell him about everything that has been going on.  I can’t do it.  We’ve been together for such a long time that I know if I don’t give him his time, then it will be weeks instead of hours until I get him back fully.

Like clockwork, he was back to his old self by the time we crossed the gate on post.  He talked about the mission, his Soldiers, what he ate, what broke down, and his confrontations with other Soldiers.  He was officially back.  I have him back and it feels incredible. I really like this dude.  I mean, I love him completely, but I really like him.  I would hang out with him all of the time if I could. The only problem we have is that I also like eating and living in this house and what he does provides us with all of that, so I have to share him with the Army.  I’m kind of frustrated with sharing, especially since I’m typing this blog while he is still at work after being away from home technically since July.  Shouldn’t he be off today? I guess I could look at this as preparation for his upcoming deployment, but I really just want to look at his face for a whole week and settle in to the familiarity of our love again.  I just really want to sit on the couch and ignore the television while watching the kids play.  I want my normal back.  I just want him back.

One thought on “He’s home!..kind of.

Leave a Reply

