21 Day Vegan Challenge (Day 3)

Every now and again, I decide to do something crazy. A few years ago, I decided to go gluten free. I made the choice to go gluten free because I read that it would help in my thyroid function or rather slow down my immune system attacking my thyroid. It actually helped, but my thyroid was removed anyway. Going gluten free led me to the Paleo diet. The paleo diet was a drastic change, but I felt good on it. I was strictly paleo for about 18 months and then went on to eating paleo 80 percent of the time. I did a few stints of the Whole 30 diet. Actually, I did a Whole 90 while my husband was deployed and the results were amazing. If you have no idea what the hell I’m writing about, then consider yourself lucky or unlucky if you have a few issues with your health. I’ll just put this in the universe…the majority of your immune system is in your digestive tract, so your diet has a ton to do with your health. That’s it. I’m getting off my soap box.

FullSizeRender 4

Breakfast (Tropical Green Smoothie)

Anywho, one weekend while I was in Los Angeles visiting family, I went to this vegan restaurant and the food was amazing. I also had the chance to meet the chef/owner and she looked amazing. Okay, this may sound a bit vain, but I was looking at her like what do I need to do to look like her when I’m 65 years old. Like, really she defied time. Her name is Chef Babette (google her!) and I spoke with her briefly and learned a little about the vegan diet. I’ve never wanted to go vegan. Oh, I forgot to mention in the beginning of this post that I use to be vegetarian too before I went into the Army. I know what being a vegetarian is like. I’ve even considered going back to being a vegetarian, but veganism has always seemed extreme to me. Like, no honey! NO HONEY! That’s just odd. Let’s not mention the whole cheese thing. It’s not normal for people not to eat cheese. I just never considered it and let’s not mention the fact that I think we are meant to eat meat. When I was a vegetarian, I never thought of eating meat as wrong. I just thought people ate too much of it.

FullSizeRender 3

Lunch (Fried Plantains, Avocado, Veggie Quesadilla Filing, and Green Smoothie)

So, here I am on my third day of being a vegan and I must say it’s going quite well. I decided to take this plunge because of Chef Babette, but also because I really do feel like people eat too much meat. When I was paleo, I thought that it was a bit extreme to eat that much meat. Realistically, cavemen probably didn’t eat meat every single day. I’m going off topic. Okay, I’m also trying this vegan thing out because my heart has changed. Last year, I stopped preparing meat in our meals 4 days out of the week. The whole practicing of yoga and ahimsa makes you look at things differently. When you think about what you’re eating, what the animal is injected with, what they go through while they are being housed and slaughtered, and then the sheer waste of all this life without honoring it, it becomes a bit excessive. I couldn’t justify eating meat so often. My family usually eats halal, but even then we learned that kosher and halal markets aren’t keeping up to standards with some markets carrying the same practices as big grocery stores.

FullSizeRender 2

Dinner (Spicy Kale and Quinoa Black Bean Salad)

My husband thinks I’m crazy. The kids are being patient and are happy I’m not pulling them in. My cousin decided to do it with me and me and my toilet have become fast friends. The plus is that I’ve noticed I’m less tired and I feel light. It’s only day 3! Let’s see how this goes. So far, I start my day with oatmeal or a smoothie. For lunch, I have a salad or leftovers from the previous night and dinner is usually a salad of some type or meal that has quinoa or black beans. Once again, I’m not against eating meat, but I recognize that there is a problem with how things are being done. Wish me luck because I’m going to need it. I think I’ll start a Pinterest page for anyone who may want to jump in with me or do it later.

Love and light y’all.

Leave a Reply

