Season of being the Volunteer Mom

Every Monday and Tuesday I volunteer at my children’s school. I am both happy and sad to have reached this point in motherhood. My children are old enough to get themselves dressed, poorly brush their teeth, and use the bathroom without me being involved. I’ve reached the promise land!

The promise land comes with new responsibilities and one of those includes volunteering in your child’s class. Yes, I’m THAT mom. I’m not like a PTA mom, but I am the mom who can’t quite let go. In fact, I stay as far away from the PTA as I can. I just want to be involved in the classroom where my children actually spend the majority of their time. I may have a ton of complaints about this small city, but one of the best things is how much people are allowed to be involved. You can volunteer for almost anything and if you choose wisely, you won’t even have to deal with the whole mom clique shit. I thoroughly enjoy walking thru the school hallways to the sound of little voices saying, “hi Mrs. Hanson” or “guess what I did last weekend Mrs. Hanson”. It’s pretty nice.

The best part is that you get to know the children and they are some of the most honest human beings you will ever come into contact with. I’ve been told some of the craziest things by the kids in Kindergarten. This week I asked a girl how she was doing and she said, “I’m okay, well I’m not, my mom took me to urgent care last weekend and now I have to have surgery because I snore like a man”. I didn’t quite know how to answer that, so I just told her that I hope she felt better. During the Valentine’s party, one little boy asked me if I liked wine. I thought I heard him wrong, but he repeated himself and asked me if I liked white or red. What’s a mom to do except to answer, so I told him I liked red, but preferred wine. I thought it would be too much to tell him that I was actually a whisky girl. I get some of the best advice from Kindergarten boys who have advised me that I should start baking with my son because “he would love that very much”. I tried it and they were absolutely correct.

If you read my blogs, it is quite clear that I am in a season of gratitude. So…I am pretty damn grateful to have the ability to volunteer at the kids school. My children have lucked up with teachers I actually like. I enjoy being there. It warms my heart to see their faces and to hear their stories. It’s also nice knowing that whatever I say, do, or drink will be brought up at school by my child one day. It makes me think before I speak, do or drink. Heaven forbid my child go to school discussing guns or war, already happened.  With each season of motherhood I am finding that there is something so beautiful about being a mom. Now, I just need to figure out the beauty in my daughter starting puberty. I’m sure there is something, but I could do without the attitude at the moment. What are you thankful about in this season in your life?

Love and light y’all.

Leave a Reply

